Into the Fire

Image

Gym Jones Women’s Foundation program

Day 1

The ingredients: one Concept 2 rower

The recipe: intervals.

I went to bed early last night and got up an hour earlier this morning, ready to jump into the fire and start this new program. As I was laying in bed, rubbing the sleep out of my eyes, I realized that I had a date with the rower looming. Looming ominously. (Does a rower loom any other way? I think not.)

Oh, how I wanted to just roll over and pull the covers over my head.

But, I didn’t. I got up. I dilly-dallied. I killed time. I hemmed. I hawed.

Finally, I just went and started the darn workout, despite of the butterflies in my stomach. You know what? It was that bad. See, you thought I was going to say it wasn’t that bad, but it was – it was that bad.

Rowing hurts, there’s just no way around it. I considered doing fewer intervals. I considered doing shorter intervals, but in the end I just sucked it up and did what was written. Gym Jones workouts are often as much about toughening up mentally as they are about toughening up physically. Time under tension, metaphorically speaking.

Leave a Reply

