Liquid Alfalfa and Other Miscellaney

Still trudging up and down mount doom periodically. One day the wind was howling about thirty miles an hour, which was ok on the way down as it was at my back. But the trip back to the top with that in my face, whooo boy! It honestly felt like I was pulling a 200 pound sled behind me. One trip was enough that day.

I got into Precision Nutrition’s Lean Eating program for this year. I even got the coach that I wanted, so I’m super excited to be starting that.

It officially started this week, and the first thing they asked us to do was take fish oil and a probiotic. I mistakenly thought we were going to take fish oil and a multivitamin, so that is what I planned for. When you are 85 miles from the nearest burg of civilization, you better be able to plan well.

My options for vitamin purchase were Walgreens, GNC or WalMart. The only multi I found that didn’t have soy and/or wheat added was a powdered greens mix at GNC.

I’ve never tried the powdered greens before (obviously, or I wouldn’t have bought it) and I thought, “Hey, it’s got natural flavors! Can’t be that bad!”

Oh, the flavors are natural, all right.

Image

Mmmmm. Natural flavors.

I mixed it up and took a sniff. Uh-oh. It smelled EXACTLY like the alfalfa cubes I feed to the cows. EXACTLY!

Trembling with trepidation, I lifted it to my lips and chugged it. Yep, it also TASTED exactly like the alfalfa cubes I feed the cows.

And, yeah, I really have tried the alfalfa cubes. If you stand around watching cows blissfully eat something for long enough, eventually you think “I wonder what that tastes like?” Or maybe that’s just me.

Also, ranching is messy. Sometimes stuff gets in your mouth.

Anyway, I’m really glad I didn’t shell out $77 bucks for the Athletic Greens stuff. But, like my grandma always used to say “You never would have known if you hadn’t tried it.”

Leave a comment