The Pain Hole

watch?v=jwy_1EDtBc0&feature=related

Thursday

10 min @ 90% aer:
45 single unders (jump rope)
10 hanging leg raises
10 air squats
(REST walk 5 min)
10 min @ 90% aer:
row 150 m
10 burpees
5 box jumps -14″ – step down
(REST walk 5 min)
10 min @ 90% aer:
25 seconds Air Dyne
10 kbs – 25#
5 push ups (red band)

Friday

Set one hundred million quadrillion wood fence posts

Saturday

A1. dips @ 20X1; 5 x 5; rest 2 min
B1. db push press @ 1010; 15 x 3; rest 1 min
B2. kbs russian heavy x 15; rest 1 min x 3

Sunday

Row 2k time trial
(9:05.5)

I’ve never done a straight 2k time trial on the erg before. I had no idea how to pace it, so my goal was 9:00 or below. I guess I came close, but close enough that I think I could have gone 5 seconds faster. Live and learn, I guess. I had read an excerpt of this article on rowing, where a scientist that measured levels of lactic acid in athletes told the author that rowers don’t hit a “wall”, they fall into a pain hole:

Marathon runners talk about hitting “the wall” at the twenty-third mile of the race. What rowers confront isn’t a wall; it’s a hole—an abyss of pain, which opens up in the second minute of the race…. As you pass the five-hundred-metre mark, with three-quarters of the race still to row, you realize with dread that you are not going to make it to the finish, but at the same time the idea of letting your teammates down by not rowing your hardest is unthinkable. Therefore, you are going to die.

After I rowed my 2k, and fell into the pain hole, and then fell off the rower and rolled around on my hands and knees for a while, I went looking for that quote. After reading the bit about the lactic acid and the abyss of pain, I perversely feel a little better. In other words, it’s not just me. If you do it right, it’s everyone. Ah, the brotherhood of suffering.

By the way, the video above is team Bad Company, bronze medalists at the 2012 Paralympics. Read their story here:

The Marine and the Orphan

Leave a Reply

