Training Update

Two weeks ago I was riding in a car with someone else, when we went down a street I use all the time and I happened to see a cool logo on a building we passed.

My head snapped around so fast I almost got self-induced whiplash. “That looks promising,” I thought to myself. “Wouldn’t it be great if it were a cool little gym?” Of course, I wouldn’t have noticed it if I had been driving. When I drive, I do not look around. Eyes on the road, hands on the wheel. I go where I’m going and then I look around. Maybe.

When I got home I googled, and it turned out it was a cool little gym, and it had been there since September. More googling revealed that one of the trainers was HKC certified (kettlebells!) and the gym was a Whole9 nutrition partner.

Hello, universe? Thank you. That is all.

I’ve been looking for someone RKC certified to work with on kettlebells. You can video tape yourself in your basement ’til the cows come home, but it’s not the same as having another knowledgeable person watch you move and give you feedback. The closest RKC instructor is over 300 miles away, and I really was contemplating trying to figure out a way to work with him. I never even thought of checking for an HKC instructor, which is what Peggy at The Underground is.

I signed up for three months of private training sessions with her and had two sessions last week. She has given me some great feedback already. I knew I was doing something wrong on my swings because my low back gets fatigued. I thought I wasn’t getting my hips back far enough, but it turns out I was over-extending my back at the top and not keeping my core tight enough. I could have video taped myself doing a million swings and never figured that one out on my own.

The first session was kind of a “let’s see what we’re dealing with here” kind of gig. I had told her through email that I’d been watching videos online and teaching myself. I’m sure she read that and thought “Dear Lord, don’t let it be Jillian Michaels videos.” She asked me when I came in and when I told her “Tracy Riefkind, Neghar Foononi and Steve Cotter” the relief on her face was palpable. Heh, heh.

So, I’ve been doing these kettle-ball swing thingies and I just can’t figure out why my back hurts.

The second session was a great butt-kicking circuit, and the finisher was drop-set farmer’s walks. I loooooove me some farmer’s walks. In fact, the way to my heart is probably through farmer’s walks, and maybe dark chocolate ice cream. If a man could find a way to combine farmer’s walks and dark chocolate ice cream, I’d probably marry him. Just sayin’.

Hello, universe? Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

