I Feel Happy!

I am having so much fun with my minimalist One Girl, Two Bells experiment. In fact I’m having so much fun I feel like this guy:

Yes, nearly-dead man, I think I’ll go for a walk, too!

Another factor in my happiness is the fact that on Tuesday afternoon the last heifer had her calf. When I walked in the corral and saw that the blessed even had transpired, I started whooping and yelling and raised my arms in the air in celebration. This confused the heifer and she jumped up and started looking around, apparently wondering when we’d scored a touchdown.

I was thrilled when I could go to bed that night – and for the first time in over a month – not have to be jerked awake by my alarm at 3 A.M. So imagine my absolute delight when I woke up at 4 A.M. all on my own. Even better, the next night I woke up at 3:30 A.M.! When I didn’t have to!

Stupid internal clock.

But for the last two nights I have slept like a rock and I feel like a million bucks.

Here is a run down on my last two workouts:

Thursday

Body weight warmup
(jumping jacks, lunges, squats, pushups, mountain climbers, band pull-aparts, inchworms)

Turkish Get-Up
2 per side, 12kg

Halos
10 per side, 25#

One arm KB press
5 x 2 per side, 12kg

One arm KB floor press
5 x 2 per side, 12 kg

30 seconds work right / 30 seconds work left / 30 seconds rest x 4 rounds of each movement
One hand swings
One arm cleans
One arm push press

Cool down – 2 hand swings
5 x 10, 12kg

Friday

Double KB Swings (sumo)
5 x 10, 12kg & 25#

Goblet Squats
3 x 10, 25#

A1. Sled drag, 80 yards (sled + planter)
A2. Double KB rack carry (25# & 12kg)

1 1/2 mile walk with dogs

The rack carries are absolutely brutal. The first 40 yards aren’t too bad, but then the last half the bells start to push the air out of your lungs and you just want to be doing pretty much anything else in the world – except maybe Airdyne sprints. Luckily, I had my coach there to keep me motivated.

C’mon maggot, move it! We still have a game of frisbee to get done tonight!

Getting nipped on the backside is a great motivator.

The weather was absolutely perfect, so we went for a walk when I was all finished with my workout. It was one of those evenings when the air was thick and golden and smelled like perfume. The grass is growing, the bushes in the yard are flowering, the smell of coming rain is in the air, and the sky was tinted rose and purple. I imagine that’s how people who live in Hawaii or Santa Barbara feel all the time. For one night at least, I too, lived in paradise – and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

