Hey, Knucklehead

Box Squat – 5/5/5
66# / 76# / 86#

Deadlift – 5 x 10
81#

Hanging Leg Raises
5 x 10

Walk 2 miles

Today was the first day of my new 5/3/1 cycle, and I’m attempting the Boring But Big template. That may seem an odd programming choice for someone who desperately wants to lose weight – but what the heck, I am anything if not odd.

You can read all about Boring But Big here.

The 81# deadlifts seemed light. Excessively light. But when I plugged all my numbers into the spreadsheet that’s what popped out, so that’s what I’m doing. Even though I felt really good doing a fairly heavy triple (213#) last cycle, I have the feeling I need to back off a little bit. I’ve been seeing things about people getting injured recently. First it was Dana, then today I watched a great series of videos on the CrossFit Journal about another lifter that blew a disc out. All that talk of blown discs was making my Spidey Sense tingle.

Sometimes the universe taps you on the shoulder and says “Hey, knucklehead – back off.” If you don’t heed it, it’s usually followed by a smack on the back of the head. I’d much rather get the tap than the smack.

So lighter I will go.

3 thoughts on “Hey, Knucklehead

  1. Pingback: Game on! « What's Beyond Heavy?

Leave a Reply

