The Blahs

I’ve been suffering from a serious case of the blah’s recently. I’m unmotivated, uninspired and generally in a funk. I have rousted myself twice – twice! – this week to do some workouts. Here is the carnage:

Monday

Squat – 3×5
105#

Started to do a push press/pull-up workout and crashed and burned spectacularly. More funk.

Thursday

Power clean
2 reps on the minute for 10 minutes – 83#

Deadlift – 3×5
183# (straps on last set)

Kettlebell swings – 5 x 20
16kg

I know the reasons for my funk, oh do I know them. I could blame the time change – the last two weeks I find myself waking up before sunrise, eating lunch at 9:30 am, and hitting the sack at 8:30. Huh?

I could blame work. I have so many things to do that I feel like I’m about to lose my mind.

I could blame stress. The other person in the house watches 6 hours of Fox News a day, and that doesn’t count Rush Limbaugh and Glenn Beck. Said person seems to be nervous that I’m displaying an increased appetite for murder mysteries and episodes of Criminal Minds.

But I know what the real culprit is. It’s the food I have been putting in my mouth the last six months. Crap. No, I take that back, actual crap would be better for me. Pop Tarts, donuts, french toast, Doritos, ice cream. I am a weak, weak woman.

The thing is, I’m not sure I really enjoyed eating all that stuff. Robb Wolf related in a recent podcast how he went through a phase of living dangerously, and looking back he realized he didn’t even really enjoy that time. Yes brother, I feel what you’re putting out there.

I would much more enjoy being 45 pounds lighter, having my clothes fit, having energy to do more than sit in a chair and stare at the wall. So tomorrow I’m going to go back to squeaky clean Paleo/Whole30 style eating. It’s going to hurt for a while, but once I’m in the groove I feel like I’m pumping rocket fuel through my veins. Hmmmm, tiger blood? Perhaps Charlie Sheen is really Paleo?

No, somehow I don’t think that’s what he was talking about.

One thought on “The Blahs

Leave a Reply

