Moment of Clarity

Warmup:

AMRAP, 10 minutes:

wall squats
KB halos
pumps

6 rounds, + 10 squats, 7 halos

Workout:

Turkish getup singles, 5 minutes
4 left, 4 right – 25#

As I was lying on my back on the floor with a 25 pound ball of iron balanced precariously over my head, I had a brief – yet intense – moment of clarity. It went something like this:

“What the hell am I doing?”

I usually have those while I’m doing judo. More specifically, when one of the eight foot tall, 300 pound dudes in the class picks me up and throws me. At the apex of the throw, when I am balanced horizontally in the air above his shoulder, I sometimes have the same thought.

“What the hell am I doing?”

Notice I said sometimes. I think other things too, like “Mommy!” or “Did I remember to turn the iron off?” But by the time I hit the floor I usually remember that I don’t iron my clothes, so those moments are slightly less terrifying.

The getups today went one of two ways. The right side was just peachy. The left side was like a rotten peachy with a bunch of worms in it. My left shoulder (the injured one) does not hurt, but man is it weak. I may have to practice with a lighter dumbbell until I build up strength and get the movement pattern down.

Leave a Reply

