A Lil’ Speriment

I have decided to conduct a little n=1 experiment with myself. I feel so stinkin’ good just doing the kettlebell work that I am going to do Pavel’s RKC Program Minimum. It’s a 4 week program where you do nothing but swings and Turkish get-ups. That’s it.

Today was the first workout and I did a 10 minute warmup of:

10 wall squats
10 KB halos
10 pumps

As many rounds as possible in 10 minutes.

The wall squats were an adventure. My flexibility and complete lack of hamstring activation make squats one of my least favorite moves EVER! I had to squat to a box to keep from tipping over backwards like an old tree some cheeky beaver had gnawed away at. (On a completely unrelated note, I can’t wait to see the search terms “cheeky beaver” turns up on my wordpress dashboard.)

The pumps are kinda like a cross between a judo pushup and a yoga upward/downward dog. Meh.

Then the main event:

12 minutes, as many rounds as possible of:

20 kettlebell swings
1:00 easy row

I made six rounds with the 25# bell. The rows are meant to be an active recovery interval, not a pull-til-you-bleed-out-your-eyeballs interval. Thank God for that. I hate bleeding out my eyeballs. I settled in at a 2:30-2:40-ish pace on the rows.

I don’t have Pavel’s book yet, so I am kind of winging it based on info I found on the web. I found a great worksheet somewhere that recommended different moves to use during the recovery periods. Burpees was listed. Yes, burpees. I had to rub my eyes to make sure they weren’t bleeding when I saw that. In what universe are burpees considered a recovery interval? BURPEES, for the love of Pete!

Now that I think about it, if that universe does exist, I want to go there because those people must be gods and goddesses.

Anyway, when the four weeks is up I am going to test my 1RM deadlift and press. I’ll decide what to do next when I see what happens.

Leave a Reply

