Better

Bags, Bells & Bodyweight Workout #2 โ€“ Phase 1, Week 2

Box jumps, body weight deadlifts, handstand holds against wall, lunges, recline rows, bear crawls, crab walks, sit-ups, bridge holds.

I felt a lot better about life and the universe and everything in general this morning. Not only was my attitude better, but my workout was better as well. I jumped higher, crawled farther and faster and generally felt stronger all around. I can, however, confirm that the sprawls last week were a very bad idea indeed. My stomach still hurts.

Today’s musical selection: (Not the kind of music I generally enjoy, but this is catchy and the giant teddy bear heads are simultaneously terrifying, pleasing and hypnotic. Plus, I get to walk around all day singing “I don’t press people buttons, buttons.” And if you’ve ever heard me sing you know that is just plain terrifying.)

3 thoughts on “Better

  1. Hey Tami — I’m not sure if I’ve posted before? But I’ve been following along for a little while now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    At our gym we’re talking about doing a few weeks of strength bias, and I was wanted to get your thoughts on Wendler 5/3/1 since that’s your primary program, right? Pros, cons, likes, dislikes, anything would be really helpful. Thanks!

    PS – I am sooooo jealous of your deadlift numbers. Repping out 10 at 200#? Maybe that will be me next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi C! Yes, I think maybe you have commented here before. My thoughts on 5/3/1? Well, I love it! It’s an extremely flexible program, you can’t go wrong with it in my opinion. The only thing I would list as a con is that it is a slow-build program. In other words, if you are looking for fast growth of your strength numbers you’d be better off with a program like Starting Strength or CrossFit Football’s Amateur program where you squat/press 2 times a week.

      It’s taken me a good year on 5/3/1 to build up to the numbers I’m doing now, but my consistency has been lacking now and then ๐Ÿ™‚ You said your gym was going to try a strength program for a few weeks, but unless you are trying it out to work out the logistics I wouldn’t expect to see any strength gains with any program in that short a time period.

      I’ve done CrossFit’s Strength Bias program too, and I made some good gains on it but it beat me up pretty bad. Whatever strength program you and your gym try I would HIGHLY recommend the deload week. Recovery is where the magic happens.

      Thanks for the compliments on my deadlift numbers …and technically, it was 191# for 10 reps, not 200# but I’ll take that compliment anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ 200# for ten reps is just around the corner!

      Thanks so much for reading, and if you have anymore questions don’t hesitate to ask!

      • Thanks for the in-depth response, so much appreciated!

        It sounds like Wendler might work great for me, but not so much or upcoming strength cycle. We’re looking at a 6 week focus on strength, and that def doesn’t fit Wendler. Me personally, I think I need more consistency in my lifts to continue to make gains. I’ve been essentially plateaued for about a year.

        Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

