Backing Off

Press – 5/5/5+
41# / 47# / 55# (10 reps)

Power Clean – Moderately heavy single on the minute for 10 minutes
103#

then:

Row 250 meters, moderate intensity x 5
2:00 rest between rounds

1:00.3 / 1:04.3 / 1:00.8 / 1:00.7 / 1:00.4

Two weeks ago I had a really, really bad day and attempted to do the 5/3/1 rep week workout for strict presses. It did not go well. In fact, it went so bad that it ended up with me absolutely failing to even put one rep at 75# overhead. Actually, it didn’t end there. It most definitely ended with me slamming the door to the gym in my house so hard things hanging on the wall vibrated. Forcefully.

Once my tantrum subsided and I came to my senses I realized I had to swallow my ego and back way down and start from the ground up on that lift again.

Not that you can have much ego when you can only press 74 pounds.

But still, the big fat FAIL stings. No one likes to fail. Nothing to do but go back to work and keep putting weight over head.

Oh yeah, it might also help if I stop eating Zingers and ice cream.

Just a wild theory there.

Leave a Reply

