Just Barely Jumping Pull-Ups

Today I broke from my plan and just did a quick CrossFit Football workout.

Complete 5 rounds for time of:

1 Press 90% of 1 RM
1 Strict Pull Up
1 Press 90% of 1 RM
3 Strict Pull Ups
1 Press 90% of 1 RM
5 Strict Pull Ups

I used 68# and did jumping pull-ups. The pull-ups were done on one of those doorway pull-up bars. I am really close to an unassisted dead hang pull-up, and if I use the doorway bar I can just give enough push with my toes to get over the bar. So I guess I would call them just-barely-jumping pull-ups.

 

2 thoughts on “Just Barely Jumping Pull-Ups

  1. You should be able to build a decent pullup bar knowing how innovative you are. Then you can work with kipping pullups to build pullup strength for your dead hang.

    1.25 inch pipe.. and a few pieces of 2×4.. build a triangle brace on your wall.

    • Actually, I think it should be the other way around. Build dead hang pull-up strength first, then work on kipping pull-ups. I’m not a fan of kipping pull-ups, so I have zero interest in doing them anyway. Just google “CrossFit + SLAP tear” and you’ll see why.

      I have enough problems with my shoulders as it is. Deadhang strength is easily built with other progressions.

Leave a Reply

