Reset Button

Well, things didn’t exactly go as planned this week. This was supposed to be the second week of my ninth Wendler 5/3/1 cycle. I got up early to do a rowing workout on Monday and I got sick. I don’t know if it was the rowing itself (highly probable) or if I had the flu or something (the C2 flu, muahahahah!) I took stock of my sorry state and I realized my shoulder hurt, my knees hurt, and I was exhausted. I decided to just take a week off and start over with cycle 9 next week.

I was perusing the boards on the Performance Menu website and I stumbled across Gant Grimes’ 5/3/1 protocol for martial arts. It looked like tons of “fun” and I decided to give it a whirl. It looks like this:

Monday: Power snatch / squat / press / Airdyne tabata
Tuesday: Barbell complex / sprint
Thursday: Power clean / bench / deadlift
Friday: Plyo / prowler / sprint
Saturday: Conditioning ā€“ tire / rope / sled / sandbag

I modified it slightly so my plan will look like this:

Monday: Power snatch / squat / bench / rower or bike intervals
Tuesday: Barbell complex / sprint
Thursday: Power clean / press / deadlift
Friday: Plyo / prowler / sprint / Airdyne
Saturday: Conditioning ā€“ tire / rope / sled / sandbag

Like the Whole9 kids say: I’m pony at Christmas excited to get started with this!

Leave a Reply

