AM/PM

In the morning:

On the minute:

Perform 3 Power Cleans and 6 Ball Slams on the minute for 10 minutes.

*Complete Power Cleans at 70-75% of 1 RM
*Ball Slam use 40 lbs
*For every rep not completed perform 1 handstand push up.

I actually did 13 rounds of this. The first three rounds I used 73# for the cleans and 10# for the slams. I was still a little surly about the clean debacle last night so I assumed I’d have to go lighter. Turns out those weights were way too light. I upped it to 83# on the cleans (only one pound under 70% of my 1RM, so almost RX’d) and 16# on the slams. Juuuuust right.

In the evening:

Snatch – 3/3/3
49# / 56# / 63#

Snatch Grip Deadlift
5 x 83# / 5 x 113# / 5 x 133#

Snatch Pulls
3 x 3 – 103#

 I separated my strength workout from my conditioning workout because of a little tidbit I read on David Lipson’s blog. He said studies showed that you need to have at least 4 hours between strength and aerobic workouts. I dug into that a little more and found numerous sources that backed it up. I also kind of tend to lean towards Martin Berkhan’s Leangains approach of fasting. I don’t really do it on purpose, more because it feels right to me. I’m usually not hungry in the morning or even a little queasy at that time. Not eating until 10 or 11 AM works out really well for me. Martin recommends not doing your strength training in the fasted state, but he also had a post about a study that said it may be beneficial to do your aerobic workout in the fasted state. 

So, that is why I’m going to try to hit my conditioning workouts in the morning and the strength workouts in the afternoon. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

