My Experience With The Whole30

The last 30 days have been a very eye-opening experience for me. I dedicated myself to participating in Whole9’s Whole30 3.0 challenge. You can get the details at their website, but basically for 30 days I ate nothing but whole foods. Meat, veggies, fruit and nuts. No grains, no dairy, no soy and no sugar. Nothing with any additives was allowed, like bacon cured with sugar or chicken broth with corn starch in it.
My results were very positive. I lost a total of 11 pounds and went down one clothing size. My waist shrank three inches (the only thing I measured since I was looking into buying a new weight belt.) I felt very good, but the last few days of the challenge I had extremely bad headaches. I attribute that to three things:
1. I was not eating enough or drinking enough water
2. I was stressed to the max and working very hard
3. I’m a girl and I have hormone issues once a month
The day after my challenge ended a new one began, and I failed miserably at it. Seven of my dearest relatives came all the way from Texas to stay at our house for Thanksgiving. We don’t get to see each other very often, so this was a big, joyous event. The baking began three weeks a head of time. Cookies, cakes, cinnamon rolls, bars.
Sugar, grains, sugar, grains.
I didn’t even mention the fry bread, cookie salad, mashed potatoes and cornbread stuffing. And I ate it all. Lots of it. Just one cookie? Noooooo, not me! I ate half the can!
I won’t bore you with all the gory details, but one thing is clear: I can’t handle that stuff. I’m like a crack-head that’s been clean for 3 years and then one day decides to have “one little hit.” Next thing you know I’m crawling around on the floor looking for cookie crumbs. Not good.
I did not get sick to my stomach after reintroduction to grains and sugar. Which puzzled me, as it has happened several times before. I did, however, retain an astonishing amount of water. I gained at least five pounds in one week. Whoa, Nelly!
I am going to go back to eating the Whole30 way as much as possible, and I have been for the last three days. However, if the situation is not favorable to me eating that way (eating out at a restaurant and not knowing what’s in the chicken, for example) I will just eat. It’s not possible to be perfect, but it is possible to try my best to eat healthy.
4 thoughts on “My Experience With The Whole30

  1. “I am going to go back to eating the Whole30 way as much as possible, and I have been for the last three days. However, if the situation is not favorable to me eating that way (eating out at a restaurant and not knowing what’s in the chicken, for example) I will just eat. It’s not possible to be perfect, but it is possible to try my best to eat healthy.”

    Right on, Tami! That’s my approach, too, and it leads to feeling really great most of the time. AWESOME! Stay in touch!

  2. I didn’t do too good for Christmas.. I was doing fine until we went to my brother’s house where my sister in law made spaghetti, bread sticks (with margarine), creamed corn, iceberg lettuce and ranch dressing, followed by pumpkin pie. For supper we ate burgers and chips, since there was only enough burgers for each of us, I partook in the chips.. I wanted to be a good guest so I ate in silence… I felt like crap afterward.

    • Eating well is easy when you can cook for yourself. Add other people/places into the mix and it’s a minefield. Lots of people equate food with love. In other words, if you don’t eat my God-awful processed food casserole/desert you don’t love me. It can make you crazy if you let it.

Leave a Reply

