The Best Time of the Year

Last night I made it to Judo, and had an extremely frustrating night. I had a monster headache before I even got there, then I misunderstood the sensei’s directions on just about everything and pretty much wore my cranky pants all night. Not good to wear your cranky pants to judo. You or someone else is bound to get hurt, and it’s usually you.

I made it through unscathed, fortunately. I don’t know about everyone else, but no one was bleeding that I saw.

This morning I took a nice long hike on my favorite trail. It’s smack in the middle of the best time of year, fall. I love the smell of the damp ground and the decaying leaves. There are usually tons of migrating birds: robins, nutchatches, and flickers to name a few. It was cool but not cold. It was also awesome.

It soothed my soul and put the cranky judo beast to sleep for a little while.

Leave a Reply

