I’ll Box You Over!

Squat – Week 3, Cycle 5
5 reps @ 75% – 95#
3 reps @ 85% – 107#
1+ reps @ 95% – 120# (5 reps)
 

Conditioning Workout:

Complete 5 rounds of:

5 Hang Power Cleans 185 lbs
3 Box Overs w/ 20″ box 
50 yard sprint

*Rest 60 seconds between rounds.

*For box overs…set up three 20” boxes 3-4 feet apart. Jump over the first box landing on the other side between the boxes. Immediately bound over the 2nd box and then the 3rd. Once landing on the other side of the 3rd box roll right into the sprint.

I had to modify the conditioning workout a bit. I used one box and just jumped over, turned around, jumped back over, etc. for a total of three jumps over the box. For the sprints I did 10-ish second sprints on the stationary bike, set at a high resistance. I used 83# for the first round of cleans, then upped it to 93# because that was nowhere near heavy enough.

It was a fun one. After the first round I thought “Hey, maybe I should throw out the rest periods, this isn’t very hard!” Then I contemplated it for a bit. Sixty seconds, to be precise, which just so happened to be the entire length of the rest period. Just enough time for me to remember all those other times I thought I had a brilliant idea in the middle of a workout and exactly what happened to me when I acted on those ill-advised impulses. So the rest periods stayed, and by the third round I was bent over the handlebars of the bike contemplating throwing (up) something altogether different.

9:09 total (counting rest periods). Rounds averaged about 45-50 seconds each.

Leave a Reply

