Swing Away

One Minute On…One Minute Off…for 10 minutes.

30 KB Swings – 2 pood

*You have 1 minute to get 30 KB swings. If you do not get 30 KB Swings in 1 minute, count a penalty.
*Perform this workout one minute on and one minute off. Total time is 10 minutes.

*For every penalty counted, perform a 1000 meter row.

Holey moley Batman! By the time this one was over I couldn’t open my hands. I thought I was going to have to figure out how to go through the rest of the day with my hands clutched around the dumbbell handle. I used a 30# DB and did American Swings. I missed completing the first round by one rep, and I would have gotten that if I hadn’t diddled after starting the timer and I also underestimated how much I’d have to hustle to get all the reps in. Again, another workout that sounds easy but in fact sucks a really, really, really lot.

I don’t have a rower, so I did a 1000 meter “sprint” on the stationary bike as a sub for the penalty. I planned on 2000 meters, but after 1000 my legs just detached themselves and crawled off across the room. So much for that.

Later in the afternoon I did the strength workout:

Deadlift – Week 2, Cycle 5
3 reps @ 70% – 126#
3 reps @ 80% – 144#
3+ reps @ 90% – 163# (7 reps)

Power Clean – Week 2, Cycle 5
3 reps @ 70% – 66#
3 reps @ 80% – 76#
3 reps @ 90% – 85#

Leave a Reply

