The Better Part of Valour

Squat – Week 1, Cycle 5
5 reps @ 65% 1RM – 83#
5 reps @ 75% 1RM – 95#
5 + reps @ 85% 1RM – 108# (5 reps)

I’ve been hobbling around stiff-legged for two days in response to the weighted barbell lunges on Tuesday. Too bad it’s squat day. Bwahahahah!

Except that it’s supposed to be bench day, but I decided to switch it because the DWOD on CrossFit Football was 100 meter sprint intervals. In typical Tami-overthinks-things-itis, I switched my lift to hit the same muscle group. Duh. I just did deadlifts and heavy lunges a few days ago and I can’t walk quite right. Yeah, squats and sprints seem like a good idea. What could possibly go wrong? (In retrospect, I seem to post that phrase quite often on this log. I’m sensing a pattern.)

I hit up the Mobility WOD and mashed a tennis ball around on my butt-ocks for a while and did some other K-Star approved moves. Then I did the squats. Then I sat on the couch and talked myself into and out of the sprints for about 15 minutes. In the end I decided against it. My hamstrings were tiiiiiight, it was only about 40 degrees outside, and I planned on going to Judo for the first time in three months this evening. Sometimes prudence is the better part of valour.

It probably turned out to be the right decision. I went to judo and got mashed. The class started with my two least favorite throws (i.e. the ones that hurt the most when you are the uke.) We worked some other throws for a while and then did ground sparring and a couple of rounds of randori. The latter two where quite enjoyable, but I’m not used to that sort of thing and I’m dinged up a little. Tomorrow may be a rest day.

That being said, it was great to be back. I missed it a lot.

Leave a Reply

