This Is Gonna Hurt

Deadlift – Week 1, Cycle 5
5 reps @ 65% 1RM – 118#
5 reps @ 75% 1RM – 135#
5 + reps @ 85% 1RM – 153# (5 reps)

Power Clean – Week 1, Cycle 5
5 reps @ 65% 1RM – 63#
5 reps @ 75% 1RM – 71#
5 + reps @ 85% 1RM – 81# (5 reps)

Rest a few minutes and then:

Complete 5 rounds for time of:
12 Barbell Walking Lunges @ 35%- 40% of 1 RM Squat (6 each side)
12 Ring Dips
Sprint 100 meters

Traditionally, I have been unable to do lunges with a bar on my back. I can do overhead, weights at my sides, and weights in the rack position. But put a bar on my back and I suddenly become completely spasmatic and lurch and stagger around willy-nilly. Alright, so spasmatic, lurch, stagger and willy-nilly are probably terms that could be used in describing me a lot more frequently than I would like, but not when it comes to lunges.

So imagine my delight when I put 5o pounds on the bar, plopped it on my shoulders and it actually worked! Except that meant that now I had to do freaking weighted lunges. Gar.

I ended up doing three rounds, with the lunges as rx’d, band assisted dips, and 20 second sprints on the stationary bike. After three rounds I decided that I would like to be able to walk the next three days, so I cut it short. I already hurt my shoulder the first day back, no sense adding body parts to the disabled list. It’s not like I can call up a new pair of legs from the minor leagues – though it would be awesome if I could trade for Kristin Clever’s gams. Unfortunately, she’d probably want them back… like, immediately.

Leave a Reply

