Not What I Expected

Handstand holds – 3 x max time
0:30/0:40/0:43 

20 Minutes Gymnastics work
Ring pushups 3 x 3, static holds on rings with knees tucked, hollow rocks/supermans, max height box jumps (24″ max)

For time:

9 Clean & Jerks 
Sprint 1 Gasser
6 Clean & Jerks  
Sprint 1/2 Gasser
3 Clean & Jerks
Sprint 1/4 Gasser

10:20 with 103#

Back when I was admiring CrossFit Football from afar the workouts looked something like this:

Monday – Press 3 x 5 + metcon
Tuesday – Deadlift 3 x 5 + metcon
Thursday – Power Cleans 3 x 5 + metcon
Friday – Squat 3 x 5 + metcon
Saturday – Metcon

Which was eerily similar to what I was doing with Wendler 5/3/1:

Monday – Press + metcon
Tuesday – Deadlift + metcon
Thursday – Clean & jerk + metcon
Friday – Squat + metcon
Saturday – rest or go for a hike

So when, in my infinite wisdom, I decided to switch from 5/3/1 to CFFB I thought “Hey, it’s the same thing!” Ha! Yeah, right. Now I’m doing freaking handstand holds, gymnastics and heavy back squats two times a week.

But you know what? It’s good for me. Doing stuff I hate to do (handstand holds, body weight gymnastics work, SQUATS!) will only make me better, stronger and highlight my weaknesses. What I found out from the gymnastics interlude is that I really, really need to work on my body weight movements. I love ring pushups. I totally suck at hollow rocks and static ring holds. I thought I was getting stronger but that was an illusion that was completely wiped out after a grand total of 10 seconds on the rings. Gymnasts are beasts, that’s all I can say.

The max height box jumps may seem pathetic to most other people, but I have historically been a non-jumper. I’m only a shrimpy 5’2″ and I have absolutely NO hops. None. When I switched from Body For Life to CrossFit workouts three years ago my max height box jump was six inches. I am not kidding. It was terrifying, too. So 24″ is like the top of Mount Everest for me.

The metcon workout – well, let’s just say that I finally went heavy enough. It. Was. Miserable. I had to run the gassers on a treadmill, so I just guesstimated the distance.

Leave a Reply

