The Volkswagen

Squat – 3 x 5 – 110#

The Volkswagen

21, 15, 9 reps of:

Bench Press @ Body Weight (scaled to 80#)
Pull Ups

14:48

This one was a bit difficult, both logistically and strength-wise. Logistically, because my squat rack and pull-up bar are all one piece of equipment and my bench is made up of no fewer than three separate objects. Every time I switched exercises I had to move the bench parts, pull the bar out of the rack and deposit it on the floor. Then I actually had to do the stinking pull-ups. I’m lucky I even remembered what I was doing after all that.

I backed off on the squats a bit to be able to have something to build to. They felt great. Actually, they felt as awesome as squats have ever felt for me.

I’m having a bit of a 5/3/1 withdrawal. I feel anxiety that I won’t get all my lifts in. I was a bit peeved when the CF Football workout was posted last night because I already did squats this week, and we haven’t done any deadlifts. What about the deadlifts? If I don’t do them once a week the world is not in it’s proper order.

Then I thought about it and I realized that on Tuesday, my traditional deadlift day, I did a workout with 30 reps of deadlift at a weight I was doing five reps for. And today I did a workout with 45 reps of bench that I was doing five reps for. 

OK, I see your point, CrossFit Football. Very sneaky of you.

Leave a Reply

