Squat, Cleans, Jerks and Two Miles

Squat – Week 2, Cycle 4

3 reps @ 70% – 95#
3 reps @ 80% – 108#
3+ reps @ 90% – 122# (5 reps)

Conditioning Workout:

On the minute

Perform 3 power cleans and jerks on the minute for 8 minutes.

*For every rep not completed complete 5 burpees at the end of the 8 minutes.

I used 83#. No penalties – which means, of course, that I should have gone heavier.

I finished it off by taking the dogs for a little 2 mile hike. It was a beautiful, cool morning. A shame to waste it inside.

And now for something completely different – food. I have been struggling the past few weeks between eating clean and not eating clean. Wedding showers, visiting relatives and family time have presented me with temptations o’plenty. Almost every time I have caved and eaten cake, ice cream, bread and other various and sundry concoctions. Then it’s back on the wagon with meat, fruit, veggies and nuts. 

The more I do this, the more I notice the immediate effect bad foods have on my body. Yesterday I spent some time with my mom and we got ice cream from one of our favorite local joints. I enjoyed it while I was eating it, but within a half hour I felt like I wanted to die. I couldn’t breathe, my whole body burned and ached, and I felt like I hadn’t slept in a week. When I got home I cooked a big, greasy, fatty piece of sausage. Immediately – and I mean IMMEDIATELY – after eating it I felt better. My energy came back up, the bloating went away and I didn’t hurt anymore.

Obviously, my body is trying to tell me something, and that something is STOP PUTTING THAT CRAP IN HERE!

Ok, ok, you can stop yelling. I get the point.

Leave a Reply

