Emergency Total System Shut Down

Press– Week 2, Cycle 4

3 reps @ 70% – 56# (did 5 reps – oops!)
3 reps @ 80% – 65#
3+ reps @ 90% – 72# (3 reps)

Bench Press – Week 2, Cycle 4

3 reps @ 70% – 63# 
3 reps @ 80% – 72#
3+ reps @ 90% – 81# (7 reps)

Ring Dips 5 x max reps

10/11/10/8/8 

The conditioning workout was supposed to be:

Complete 10 rounds:

Sprint 100 meters

*Rest intervals – 1:3 (work:rest)

But my plantar facitis flared up big time after last weeks sprint workout. So I decided – for reasons that are still a bit unclear to me – that I would be better off doing hill sprints. Also, for some other reason I still haven’t figured out, I paced them off from the bottom of the hill instead of the top of the hill. 100 meters ended up being a ways from the top so the distance ended up being close to 150-160 meters. 

Lets see: I think I can’t do 10 x 100 meters because my feet hurt, so I end up doing 5 x 160 meters for a grand total of minus 200 yards. Up a freaking hill. Huh. Makes sense to me.

Anyhoo, a 160 meter hill is a long, long, looooong way. 20 meters from the end of the last sprint my body decided to enact an emergency total system shut down. Someone in there turned the key, flipped open the little glass case and hit the big red button. My mind kept saying “Go, go, go!” but my body said “Not so fast Sparky.” Then I made the mistake of bending over and resting my hands on my knees. My body told my brain, “Hey, the ground looks comfy, let’s go down there.” And my brain almost said “Sounds good!” but then it snapped to and said “I don’t think we should pass out in the middle of the road.” Good old brain saves the day.

Leave a Reply

