Strictly Overhead

Clean & Jerk – Week 1, Cycle 4

5 reps @ 65% – 70#
5 reps @ 75% – 81#
5+ reps @ 85% – 93#

The cleans felt awesome. I tried to concentrate on pulling slow off the floor and exploding through the middle. The first two sets I did all five cleans, then rested a few minutes and did the jerks. The last set I did singles of clean & jerk, resting about a minute or so between reps. All the jerks were split jerks, which I hate, and I hate them because I suck at them.

Conditioning Workout:

Complete 5 rounds for time of:

1 Press 90% of 1 RM
1 Strict Pull Up
1 Press 90% of 1 RM
3 Strict Pull Ups
1 Press 90% of 1 RM
5 Strict Pull Ups

8:45

I used 65# for the presses and I did jumping pull ups. This wasn’t very metcon-ish, and by that I mean I wasn’t sucking wind. It was more a limitation of strength than anything. I set up the pull ups so I was jumping off of a stack of bumper plates and they were just high enough to give me momentum to do the pull up. Not high enough to be easy, but low enough to be challenging.

Leave a Reply

