I Got the Burpee Blues

Clean & Jerk – Week 2, Cycle 2

3 reps @ 70% – 73##
3 reps @ 80% – 83##
3+ reps @ 90% –93## – 4 reps

Conditioning Workout:

For time:
burpee box jumps 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
dual kettlebell clean + press 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10

18:32

I got the workout from Melissa ‘Melicious’ Joulwan’s blog. Unlike Melicious, I do not like burpee box jumps. Burpees, yes. Box jumps, yes. Burpees and box jumps smushed together? No.

I used 20# dumbells for the clean & press and a 16″ box for the damnable burpee box jumps. Needless to say, it sucked. I couldn’t get into a rhythm on the burpees and I just flopped and flailed around. I actually stopped at burpee #7 in the first round and seriously considered stopping. I didn’t. I sucked it up and kept going. After it was over I felt like I wanted to curl up in a little ball and suck my thumb for about 10 minutes, but then I got that awesome sweaty satisfied post-workout glow. Love that.

Still no weight loss, no change in body fat % either. Depressing. I’ve tried eating more, eating less, eating less carbs, more carbs. Nothing makes a difference. I was so depressed this morning I actually had about four spoonfulls of Ben & Jerry’s I found in the back of the freezer. Oh well. Whatever. The world isn’t going to end.

Then I did the clean & jerks and I immediately got a confidence booster. They felt great! I looked back at my log and I did roughly the same weights on Week 3 of Cycle 1 (three weeks ago) and they definitely felt lighter today. I also noticed that the farmer’s walks from two days ago were stronger as well. It’s almost like this linear progression thing works!

So, I many not be losing weight, but I am getting stronger. I guess one out of two ain’t bad.

Leave a Reply

