The Squat Monster

Back Squat – Week 1, Cycle 2

5 reps @ 65% – 82##
5 reps @ 75% – 95#
5+ reps @ 85% – 107# – 5 reps

Usually I really don’t want to do squats. Tonight I really, really, REALLY didn’t want to do squats. My knees have been hurting all week and I’ve been spending a lot of emotional energy fretting about it.

After a week of rain, clouds and general gloom and doom the day dawned bright and sunny. The dogs were begging to go for a walk, and I was severely sun deprived, so I procrastinated squatting and working and took them for a 3 mile hike this morning. That was fun, and I love doing it, but it made my knees hurt even more. So all day I moped and tried to talk myself out of squatting. It was like the squat monster was looming over me and I was cowering in his shadow.

Tonight I thought “What the heck, get it over with.” I set up the bar, got under it and did my work. I tried to concentrate on keeping my weight on my heels, my whole body tight and my abs pushed out. You know what? It wasn’t that bad.

So my day started great, had a not so good middle and a happy ending.

Leave a Reply

