Squat Day is Never a Good Day

Squat – Week 3, Cycle 1

5 reps @ 75% – 88#
3 reps @ 85% – 99#
1+ reps @ 95% – 111# – 3 reps

So. Squat day. Never a good day in my book.

I just didn’t feel right the whole workout. Something felt off. Odd. Hinky. On the last rep of the last set my knee – I don’t know how to describe it – krinked. It’s never good when your knee krinks, especially when you have bad knees to begin with. Sufficiently panicked, I quit then and there. Granted, it was the last set, and I was nowhere near done as the weight is not heavy by anyone’s standards. But I got scared, so I just had a big old quitter’s party.

I had planned to do some hard hill runs today, and boy do I have a doozy of a hill spotted, but the weather just didn’t cooperate. Then the hinky, krinky knee situation popped up and I vacillated between going out and running the damn hill or staying in the Lazy-Boy and watching the Twins play baseball. In my experience, it only takes putting something off once and before you know it you’ve been semi-comatose on the couch for two weeks with cupcake crumbs on the front of your shirt, a ring of chocolate around your mouth and a 24 hour marathon of “Cake Boss” on the TV.

I had to do some chores tonight right before dark, and I drove by a hill (not THE hill, but a good enough hill) and I thought “Screw it, I’m just gonna go run some.” I did five 50 yard hill repeats, with the recovery being a few seconds at the top bent over with my hands on my knees and then the walk back down. I was in my full cow-checking regalia: heavy insulated pants, heavy knee high socks, three shirts, two coats, a neck gaiter and two hats. Not only did I haul my fat tush up the hill, but I also hauled half my closet with me.

Yesterday was day 3 without chocolate. A little kid walked by me at the concert last night holding a cookie. I barely restrained myself from knocking him down and cackling with glee as I seized the cookie. My Preeeeeeecious!

Leave a Reply

