Flippin’ Clean and Jerks!

Clean and Jerk – Week Two, Cycle 1

3 reps @ 70% – 69#
3 reps @ 80%  – 79#
3 or more reps @ 90% – 89# (3 reps)

Conditioning workout:

5 rounds of:

10 tire flips
20 sledgehammer strikes, alternating right/left 

I’m not sure how much the tire weighs. Let’s just say it’s heavy enough for ten flips to be taxing and light enough that five flips are not. It’s a front tire of a tractor so it’s on the smallish side, but it’s a bit heavier because the rim is still in it. There’s also plenty of “tire juice” in it too, some of which is now on my shirt and in my shoes. Lovely.

I feel really good. Loving the Wendler 5/3/1 stuff. I like the progressions, and I like having a chart printed out that tracks the workouts I’m supposed to do for a whole month. I liked the Dan John stuff, and the Melissa/Dallas PTP stuff, but that left waaaaaay too much open to my interpretation. When that happens, chaos ensues. 

Leave a Reply

