Plan A, Uh… I Mean, Plan B!

Deadlift – Week Two, Cycle One

3 reps @ 70% – 138# (accidentally did five reps)
3 reps @ 80% – 158# (got it right!)
3 or more reps @ 90% – 178# – 6 reps

Conditioning workout:

3 rounds of:

3 power snatch – 63#
2 rounds of 3 pull-ups, 6 pushups, 9 box jumps

Time: just under 9 minutes

Then:

Two rounds of the following sled drag complex:

170′ front drag
170′ front drag SPRINT
170′ hand over hand pull
170′ backwards drag (try to run)

So, plan A was deadlifts, followed by workout #1 (snatch, etc.), which was supposed to be AMRAP in 15 minutes. But, in my life, plan A rarely reaches fruition.

First of all, the second round of deadlifts I loaded a plate on the bar and noticed that it had gray fur on it. That seemed suspicious. Upon further investigation it turned out there was a dead, decomposing mouse in my plate rack. YUCK! So there was an extensive cleaning break involving bleach, gloves, a flashlight and paper towels between set 1 and set 2.

Then I tweaked my shoulder on the pushups on workout #1, so I cut it short after round three. Feeling inadequate and a bit wimpish, I cobbled together the tire drag stuff. I was pressed for time so I only did two rounds, but that was enough. Jelly legs! Holey moley. The backwards drag was miserable. I just closed my eyes and pretended that I was in a match in a judo tournament and that chick I can’t stand was trying to beat me. Yar!

Leave a Reply

