Press Week Two

Military Press – Week 2, Cycle 1

5 reps @ 70% –  50#
5 reps @ 80%-  57#
Max reps (3 or more) @ 90% – 8 – 64# 

Quick conditioning workout:

5 rounds of

5 barbell rollouts (red band, knees)
15 kettlebell swings, 16kg (Russian)

I screwed the presses up, I was only supposed to do 3 reps on the first two sets. Oh well, they were easy anyway, so whatevah…

The conditioning workout was pretty simple, got my heart rate jacked a little, but also pretty easy. I didn’t want to overdo it with the rollouts (just like an abwheel, only with a barbell) because I’ve never done them in a workout like this and I wasn’t sure how it would go. I had to use the big 10# plates (bumpers) because my spring clips were too big to use with the smaller plates. The clips would flip over and hook on the floor and create some, ah interesting, variations on the rollout. I tried clipless, but then the plates rolled off of the barbell, which also created some interesting variations.

I got the idea for this from Ross Enamait (see video below), from his great site. Give it a look.

2 thoughts on “Press Week Two

Leave a Reply

