Back Squat

Back Squat

5 reps @ 65% – 76#
5 reps @ 75% – 88#
Max reps @ 85% – 100# – 8 reps

I diddled around all day and didn’t make it to the gym until about 9:00 p.m. I was going to put it off until tomorrow, but I’m glad I didn’t because I likely would have not done it at all.

I’ll be honest. I don’t like squats. I don’t like them because my form sucks. My form sucks because I have no hamstring strength or engagement, therefore I am all quad all the time. Perhaps as a result of that I have horribly unhealthy knees. They hurt, they make atrocious noises and they generally just freak me out. 

Having said that, the max reps at 100# was nowhere near my max. Not even in the same zip code. Heck, not even in the same hemisphere. I got to rep eight and I still had all my ligaments attached to the correct places so I decided that was my prerequisite for a “max” set. Yahoo. I am still ambulatory. 

I went out to eat with some family members yesterday and I did not eat well. It spilled over into last night and kind of into today. Okay, I’ll be honest. Not “kind of”, definitely. I was also lazy and didn’t do enough conditioning workouts this week. But I did get all four strength workouts in, which is a miracle in and of itself. Glory, glory hosannah.

So my goal for next week is:

  • Complete all four strength workouts
  • Complete at least three hard conditioning workouts
  • Eat better
Leave a Reply

