One For the Beetle

Today I threw all of my training plans out the window. My best-est buddy, my dog Beetle, passed away last night.

Sad, yes. But she had the best life a dog could possibly have. She lived for fourteen years in the wide open spaces of western South Dakota, free to roam wherever she pleased. She was my companion on many a great adventure. I loved to hike, run and explore and so did she.

She died peacefully in her sleep at the age of fourteen. I’m sorry I couldn’t take her on one last walk, but life rarely works out that way.

Today was beautiful, 55 degrees and sunny. I decided to hit the trails in honor of good old Beetle. I hiked through the snowy, muddy, wet paths for over an hour and got good and dirty. Beed would have loved every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

