Rhymes With Yada, Yada, Yada

Do you know what rhymes with “Yada, yada, yada?” Answer: “Kata, kata, kata.” Which is what I’ve been doing for the last three days. Over and over and over. Which is completely necessary, of course, to do it correctly. But I’m getting kind of overdosed on Nage No Kata.

On a lovely change of pace, today I actually got to go to CrossFit.

WOD:

AMRAP in 15 minutes

12 Hang Power Cleans (62#)
9 Ring Dips (red band)
21 Abmat Sit-ups

7 rounds + 12 cleans + 3 dips

This one was right in my wheelhouse. I love cleans and dips, and I’m used to lots of sit-ups from martial arts. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it was easy, but I wasn’t crumpled in a blubbering, drooling heap like I usually am after a CrossFit WOD.

Shoulders’ daughter has started coming to judo and I was partnered with her tonight. We’ve been searching for a nickname for her, because all the ladies have to have one. I finally settled on The Natural because she is just that – a natural. She’s doing great, and tonight she cemented her nickname by throwing an awesome tomoe nage on me in randori. Then, unfortunately for her, I threw the best deashi harai I’ve ever done on her. I really rang her bell and kind of fell on top of her, because as surprised as she was, I was even more shocked that it actually worked.

Sorry Natural! Do I still get a hug?

2 thoughts on “Rhymes With Yada, Yada, Yada

Leave a Reply

