11 Minutes

Workout:

90 pull-ups
90 dips

For time

Seasoned CrossFitters will recognize this as a scaled version of 30 muscle-ups for time. I used the blue band for pull-ups and the red band (small) for the ring dips.

18:05

This is an 11 minute PR for me. That’s right 11 MINUTES. Which brings to mind the question, what the heck was I doing for those eleven minutes all the other times I did this? 

My theories:

1) picking my toenails
2) twiddling my thumbs
3) reading War and Peace 

1/4/08 – 12:08 – 120 jumping pull-ups, 120 bench dips
3/26/08 – 29:00 – 90 ring rows, 90 jumping ring dips
8/1/08 – 32:10 – 100 ring rows, 100 band dips 

I have no explanation for the huge improvement, other than the fact that I’ve gotten a lot better at dips since I’ve been doing all those burpees and Strength Bias. Not sure which one is more responsible, but my moneys on the burpees.

I also tore a huge chunk of skin off my finger. I washed my hands (with soap!) right after I tore the flap of skin off (thank you, OCD) and holy mama mia did that hurt. The only thing that hurt worse was the last time I tore my hands and I decided it would be a good idea to put liquid bandage on them. If you listen carefully, you can still hear me screaming. I ain’t that bright.

Tonight was my third night of judo in a row. Crusher called and cancelled our kata practice (thank you Jesus!) so I only had regular class tonight. I was partnered with a new guy and he was a tich aggressive. We only worked on Ouchi Gari and a few ground techniques but I think he kicked me in the shins and ankles a total of 15 times.

So yeah, I’m sore.

Leave a Reply

