Back To Basics

Back Squat 5 x3

120#/125#/125#/125#/125#

Metcon:

3 rounds for time of:

Run 200m
12 power cleans, 80#
6 push jerks, 80#

8:56

Well, well, well. I don’t even know where to start. 

The 100 Day Six Pack Challenge is over. I didn’t quite make it to the end – my life got complicated and busy and my fitness and nutrition was the thing that fell by the wayside. At about 75 days into the challenge I started to see real progress: my strength numbers were up, I hit PR’s in just about every lift; I was doing unassisted dips and pull-ups; my weight was down and I dropped about a clothing size. I’m assuming that I built muscle and lost fat. However, I threw 75 days of progress away because when I get stressed I tend to shovel bad food into my mouth. And shovel I did.

I won’t belabor the details, but I lost control of myself. Life is a series of choices and I chose to be lazy with my workouts and nutrition. I could make excuses. I could make lots of excuses, Lord knows I have them. But it simply comes down to the fact that I didn’t want it bad enough. 

Sure, I’ve been working two full-time jobs. So what? My workout today came in under nine minutes. I don’t have NINE spare minutes a day? 

Certainly, it’s been hard to eat right while I’ve been so busy. It’s not easy to eat Paleo when you spend 10 hours a day riding around in a tractor and then four hours in front of a computer when you come home. But I’ve got a freezer full of beef and chicken, I can’t take an hour a week to cook up some healthy food and throw it in the fridge?

I could have, but I didn’t. And now I’m starting all over. It was the choice I made and now I’m reaping the consequences.

I wish I could bottle the way I felt during my workout tonight. Intense and excruciating misery. That way every time I am faced with a lovely slice of cake I can pop a sip of pain and say “No way!”

My new mantra is: I’d rather have a 130# clean and jerk than a cookie. I’d rather have a sub 12:00 minute Helen than a Pop Tart. I’d rather be twenty-five pounds lighter than have a Moon Pie. 

What I have to do is stop and consider each choice I have to make. Is this going to help me accomplish my goals? If the answer is no, why would I do it?

I want to be strong. I want to be fast. I want to be fit. I want to be the best I can be.

It’s time to suck it up and make a choice.

Leave a Reply

