Front Squat

100 Day Six Pack Challenge ā€“ Day 70

WOD:

Front Squat 3-3-3-3-3

100#/100#/100#/105#/105#

I planned on doing a short metcon immediately following the squats, but I got interrupted and never got the chance to finish. My legs were even stiffer than normal today. When I walked up and down the stairs my ankles were making a sound like fresh carrots being broken in half.

“Snap. Snap. Snap. Snap.”

“What’s that?”

“Oh, Tami’s just walking down the hall.”

Too bad that will disqualify me from my dream of being a ninja. I’ll never be able to sneak up on anyone at this rate.

It’s haying season here on the ranch, and as the chief baler I have been spending most of my free time bouncing around in a giant John Deere tractor. My lower back has been killing me and I think it’s because I spend most of the day with my lower body pointing forward and my upper body pointed backwards. I’m no expert or anything, but I don’t think this would fly with OSHA. That’s the hard part about baling hay, you have to be able to look forwards and backwards at the same time. If you look forward to do important things like steer the tractor, you might miss the fact that a belt on the baler has twisted and now is on the verge of bursting into flames; and if you look backwards at the baler you may not realize that you have veered off course and are about to drive through a fence and into a gully.

It’s a fine line between absolute terror and unbelievable boredom.

Today’s food: ham & cheese omelette; summer sausage and pepper cheese; almond butter; Zone bar; chicken; half a banana; chicken; red leaf lettuce salad w/cheese, bleu cheese bacon dressing, hard boiled egg and bacon; small piece of 90% dark chocolate.

2 thoughts on “Front Squat

  1. Soultion…..I used to recruit one of my little cousins and make them drive, while I watched the baler!!! Problem was if you were going at night the little buggers always used to fall asleep, and than you would have them bouncing around in the cab with you, or trying to lean on your shoulder all night……yeah maybe that wasn’t such a good idea after all!!

    • LOL, that’s an interesting solution. Your cousins must have been much more responsible than mine!

      The dog rides with me sometimes if she’s scared of the weather, but I haven’t figured out how to teach her to drive yet. She’s having problems getting her paws to reach the clutch.

Leave a Reply

