Let This Be A Lesson To Me

100 Day Six Pack Challenge – Day 61

So. For the past three days I have been very, very bad. I would even go so far as to say I’ve been on a binge. I got to spend some quality Auntie time with one of my girls on Friday and we hit Zesto (ice cream!) twice. Saturday I was slammed with ranch work and I just ate whatever was within arm’s reach (candy bars, mac & cheese.) Sunday was a Father’s Day brunch at church and aside from the biggest, most beautiful platter of bacon I’ve ever seen, I was taken down by the muffins. The rest of the day was downhill from there. Today I had a brunch with friends and inhaled some cake and brownies, then had pizza, popcorn, Moon Pies and more brownies with both my girls again (more Auntie time.)

You know what? I feel like crap. Absolute crap. 

First, there is the psychological guilt. Then there is the real physical pain. My body simply cannot handle grains and sugar, especially ultra-processed grains like brownies and cake. My whole body aches, my joints hurt, my chest feels like it’s full of gunk. I feel like I have the flu, but I don’t, I just ate myself into illness. 

I always ask myself why I do this. Is the pleasure of a lovely brownie worth the ensuing agony? No way. Do I feel great on a low-carb, high protein, high fat diet? Absolutely. I feel like a million bucks. 

So why can’t I stick with it? 

I plan on fasting tomorrow to try to purge this icky-ness from my body. I was planning for a 24 hour fast, so we’ll see how it goes. I need a jump start, that’s for sure.

One thought on “Let This Be A Lesson To Me

  1. Pingback: Let This Be A Lesson To Me « sixpackabs4u.com

Leave a Reply

