Rowing, Rowing, and More Rowing

100 Day Six Pack Challenge – Day 47

WOD:

Row 5K

23:22:7

That’s a lot of rowing, my friends. A lot.

I had to kick my imagination into gear, as there is not much else that tops the bore quality of LSD cardio on an indoor machine. Though I must concede that the treadmill is the worst. All I can think about on a treadmill is a hamster on those little wheels. Anyway, my imagination has always been pretty good, and the rowing motion gets a little hypnotic after a bit, so it was easy to pretend I was gliding along on a quiet river, or pulling to the finish at the Olympics, or chained to an oar with a big strapping Viking standing over me with a… oh, wait – that’s a different fantasy. Never mind.

The farthest I’ve ever rowed before was 1K, and that was in a metcon of some sort. I had no idea how to pace myself, so I diddled a little bit at the beginning. Then again, I had plenty in the tank for a good kick on the last 1K, so I don’t know if it would make a difference. I do know that this is 10 minutes faster than my 5K running PR, which I set at a race over five years ago when I was running every day. It’s probably about 15 minutes faster than my average 5K run. I tell you what, I’d rather row a 5K than run one any day. At least when you row you get to sit down. And then there are those Vikings.

Tonight I did 3 x 5 shoulder press:

65#/65#/70#

Today’s Food:

Picture 1

My cousin got married this weekend, and I have to confess I was a bad, bad girl. What? No, not Vikings, cake! Sheesh, people, get your mind out of the gutter. I ate enough cake to keep a small bakery’s electric bill paid. Cake, cake, cake! (said in Beavis and Butthead “Fire, fire, fire!” voice.) Heh, heh.

3 thoughts on “Rowing, Rowing, and More Rowing

  1. Pingback: Rowing, Rowing, and More Rowing « sixpackabs4u.com

  2. Good job on the row, especially since it was the first time you had done it. Sam really thought it was funny how you were warming up on the rower then seen me write “5k row” on the board and you instantly jumped off saying “are you serious?”….. I dislike a 5k row so much it obviously needs to be in our programming much more often…………..

    • Well, I only have so much rowing in me. I have to conserve it for when I really need it (ie: a 5K row.)

      I still wish I could have got Sam to yell at you just a little bit while you were rowing. Perfect opportunity, you were miserable and strapped to a machine… she would have had a good head start if she need to get way fast.

      Sam, these opportunities don’t present themselves every day. Carpe Diem.

Leave a Reply

