CF Football, Kyuki-Do and Judo

100 Day Six Pack Challenge – Day 43

This morning we did a CrossFit Football WOD at the box:

7 rounds for time:

7 overhead squats (42#)
7 box jumps (18″)
7 clapping push-ups (from knees)

9:08

I didn’t think this one was too bad. In fact, I felt fan-tastic this morning! I’m pretty sure I should go heavier on the OHS and higher on the box jumps, and probably just strict, chest to deck pushups next time around. I liked it, but I wasn’t wrecked.

I would have been sub-8:00, but I lost one OHS on the way up and had to redo it, and I almost slid out of my nylon track pants on the first set of pushups. 

The 18″ box jumps felt great, I’m thinking I can hit 20″ now in a workout like this. That’s HUGE for me. I’ve always considered myself a non-jumper. My vertical leap is like, a foot – and not even a foot with twelve inches in it, more like MY foot. When I started CrossFit I remember doing 6″ box jumps and being totally freaked out about it. 20″ was like a distant, unattainable goal, which is now right over the horizon. Yay for CrossFit!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Kyuki-Do again tonight. Not too hard, mostly practicing stances and a few striking techniques with stances. 

Then I stayed for judo class later. We did some breakfalling, and then did some variations on our basic throws. We went through them slowly and practiced setting them up with an opponent. We also did a little kazushi with our eyes closed, trying to feel the littlest movements from the oppenent. Then we ended class with 15 minutes of randori.

I managed to give myself an instant headache on the last breakfalling technique we did. I don’t know what it’s called, but it’s like a walking breakfall without touching your shoulder. So basically just throwing your whole body sideways in the air, flipping over and smacking down on the mat. I didn’t hit my head, but I landed so hard (and I did the breakfall correctly, I might add) that I just hurt every place on my body instantaneously. I’m definitely no genius, but I think that was my body telling me to go sit the hell down and stop all this foolish flipping, jumping, smacking stuff.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Today’s food: Ham & cheese omelette, summer sausage, cheese, few dark chocolate covered almonds, turkey, apple, almond butter, few spoonfuls of ice cream.

One thought on “CF Football, Kyuki-Do and Judo

  1. Pingback: CF Football, Kyuki-Do and Judo « sixpackabs4u.com

Leave a Reply

