One More Day in the Garage

Today was my last day to work out in the garage. The car that usually fills it will be back tomorrow morning, and the party will be over. 

It was fun while it lasted. The weather was great and it was nice to be able to open the doors and get some fresh air and a view of something other that the pipes in the furnace room. It was also nice to be able to drop the bar and bumpers. I LOVE dropping a heavy bar. Love. It.

My workout today was from CrossFit Football:

Perform 2 Power Cleans on the minute for 15 minutes.

*Start the clock. At the top of every minute perform 2 Power Cleans.
*Use a maximal weight. 80% – 85% of 1 RM
*For every rep not completed, perform 5 burpees during rest time.

I used 100#, which is 85% of my 1RM. I hate saying this about CrossFit workouts, but this was downright easy. I guess that means I should have gone heavier, which in turn must mean that I can clean a whole lot more than 115#.

After that I did the strength portion from today’s CFFB:

Squat 3×5
Press 3×5 

Squat: 100#/110#/120#
Press: 60#/65#/65#

The squats actually felt ok, other than the usual alarming creaking and popping noises that my knees make. I am just going to come to peace with the fact that I’m never going to be a good squatter, due in large part to my physical limitations. I’m just going to do the best I can and not worry about it anymore.

I would have to say that my experiment with CrossFit Strength Bias was a great success. My deadlift 5RM went up 7#, my deadlift 1RM went up 10#, and my clean and jerk went up 5#. I feel stronger, and I didn’t even do a full cycle. I really noticed the strength gains after I took a few weeks off from the cycle. I’m going to do some CF Football programming (on the days when I’m not able to make it to my affiliate) for a few weeks and maybe do another cycle of Strength Bias, depending on how I feel.

My eating has been fairly decent, except for an unfortunate brownie incident that has lasted for a day and a half. I simply cannot say no to brownies. Brownies own me.

I love the low carb eating. I think that is also a factor in my strength gains. I’ve also dropped five pounds while gaining that strength, so there must be some fat loss. I feel full of energy while I’m low carbing and sometimes I’m so satisfied I have to make myself eat. That’s right. I have to MAKE myself eat. This has never, ever happened to me in the history of my life. I LOVE to eat. 

2 thoughts on “One More Day in the Garage

Leave a Reply

