Deadlift PR, Times Two

beetle_bar_DSC02754

My training partner loading the bar – apparently with her tongue.
 

100 Day Six Pack Challenge – Day 37

I was busy, busy, busy all day and didn’t get time to workout until about 8:00 p.m. I decided to do some deadlifts since I hadn’t done any for a few weeks. 

I started off with warmup sets of 5 x 115#, 130# and 160#. I had my plates loaded backwards from the cleans the day before (10#’s and 15#’s on the inside), and I didn’t feel like unloading the whole bar. I thought, “What the heck. Go for a big jump.” So I put 200# on the bar and tried for a 5-rep set. It flew up. Cake, easy peasy. I did full stops, no bouncing, resetting with every rep. 

That was a 7# PR for five reps dating back to January. I just did 5×5’s about two weeks ago and really struggled with 185#. 

Since that went so well, I decided to try for a one rep max. My PR is 225#. I started with 220#, and that went up ok. So I put another ten pounds on and went for it. No problem!

Boy, that felt good. Two PR’s in one night in my favorite lift. 

I’ll take it.

Today’s Food:

Picture 1

Leave a Reply

