Judo – Harai Goshi

100 Day Six Pack Challenge – Day 29

I finally – finally – made it back to judo class tonight. We started out with some breakfalling, and then we worked on two throws for the rest of the night. First we did a combination of initiating with Osoto-gari and finishing with Tai-otoshi if the opponent steps back when the first throw is initiated.

Then we worked on one of my favorite throws, Harai Goshi, for the rest of the class. We did both throws in a round-robin format first, where everyone threw and everyone was a uke for everyone one time, then then we worked on applying the techniques in a simulated randori. Good stuff.

Video of Harai Goshi

I meant to go to CrossFit this morning, I really did. I set my alarm for 5:30, then proceeded to toss and turn for most of the night, fearing I wouldn’t hear the alarm and would oversleep. I finally drifted off and woke up at 6:30. I set the alarm for 5:30 PM and not AM. Dang it.

So I hit my favorite trail instead. The loop I like is about 3.5 miles and I threw in eight running intervals and finished with 10 box jumps on a bench at the end of the trail.

I haven’t logged my food for the past two days. I’ve been super busy and stressed and I’ve kind of just been eating whatever falls in my path. Today, unfortunately, Zesto fell in my path. 100 burpees duly performed.

Zesto! How I love thee, yet how I hate thee!

Leave a Reply

