Front Squats & Box Jumps

b0x_dsc01887

Workout:

Front squat 3×5

100#/110# (PR)/110#

Back squat 1×15 @ 80#

Metcon:

5 rounds for time of:
16.5″ box jumps, 10 reps
90# power clean, 5 reps 

5:37

I need to build a better box. I built my box about two years ago out of scraps of lumber I found scattered about my parent’s ranch. I didn’t have a saw, so it’s kind of just cobbled together in a haphazard fashion. It also weighs a ton and is a pain in the butt to move around. It’s only 12″ so I always stack it on top of my bumper plates to raise the height a little. The top is made out of some sort of laminated imitation wood product. I left it outside last summer so it got wet and puffed up like a mushy cracker. Now when I jump on it little pieces flake off and softly fall to the ground like little imitation wood snowflakes. So beautiful. Just like a japanese wood block print; I’ll call it “Box Jumps With Mount Fuji”.

Food today:

Ham & cheese omelette, turkey, grapes, cheese, almond butter, steak, romaine lettuce, blue cheese dressing, shredded cheese, bacon, 3 dark chocolate covered almonds, 4 peanut butter m&m’s. 

Burpees penalties today: none. (I know, I can hardly believe it either.)

Thank God I’m lactose tolerant. I don’t think I could stand to eat like this without my cheese. Yeah, I know the paleo stance on dairy, but you know what, I’m gonna have to go with the Beyers Healthy F-Off Scale on this one. F-Off! I’m eating the cheese! I didn’t count the m&m’s and chocolate covered almonds as infractions. I plugged them into my software (Calorie King) and the carbs were negligible, so I’ll just give myself a pass on those (as long as I keep it to a few a day. Woman cannot live without chocolate. Woman not want to live without chocolate.)

Leave a Reply

