Girls can’t do that!

eitenier2

One of the many great things about growing up as a ranch kid is that, for the most part, girls were not discouraged from being physically strong. Ranch girls and farm girls are the most versatile people on the planet. They can cook, clean, weld, shovel manure, feed the cows, plow the back 40, bale hay, fix machinery, stack the hay in the barn, sew some lovely curtains and then paint the town red. Some country girls were not allowed to do chores outside, but most ranchers view their girls just like they view their boys: cheap labor. My mom and grandma were some of the most physically strong women I’ve ever seen. One of our neighbors even told me once that my mom worked harder than any man he knew. Damn straight! (My grandma is second on the left in the picture above.)

So, with that in mind, another one of our neighbors showed up at the house today and wanted to trade some eggs for some grain. He had two feed bags filled with oats and corn in the cab of his pickup, so I went out to move them into the garage. He pitched a right little fit, insisting that I was a girl and girls shouldn’t be carrying heavy things around. Excuse me? Not only does that offend me as a woman, it offends me as a CrossFitter. If I can’t carry two fifty pound bags twenty feet then I have no business being on a ranch. Heck, my 65 year old mother can carry two fifty pound bags of feed a lot farther than twenty feet.

One of the reasons that I love CrossFit is that women are not coddled and strong women are looked up to. I don’t think I’ve ever heard a guy make a negative comment about “weak” women in a CrossFit setting. If he did, he wouldn’t last long. Not only do other women look up to the strong CrossFit women, but so do the men. Annie, Eva T., and Nicole in “Nasty Girls” is probably the most played, talked about, and revered workout video there is. And then of course there is Fran, Cindy, Angie, Jackie, Kelly… you gotta respect the girls, man.

Of course, I did carry the previously mentioned bags, despite the gentleman’s protestations. Actually, I carried them because he probably couldn’t. He’s 76 years old and about 150 pounds overweight, fighting cancer and diabetes. Dude, I got it, chill out. You can’t even walk up the stairs and you’re telling me I’m weak? I felt like challenging him to a pull-up contest.

Which brings me to my workout today:

Walking lunge 100 ft.
21 Pull-ups
21 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
18 Pull-ups
18 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
15 Pull-ups
15 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
12 Pull-ups
12 Sit-ups
Walking lunge 100 ft.
9 Pull-ups
9 Sit-ups
Walking Lunge 100 ft.
6 Pull-ups
6 Sit-ups

23:36

The first four pull-ups were legit, no band kipping pull-ups. Yay! Four in a row! The rest of them were band assisted and they were uuuuuuugly. My pull-up bar is three feet from the wall, which I thought was enough room, but I kept hitting my feet on the wall, hitting the weight plates stacked underneath, and I lost track of how many things I knocked off the wall. It took me forever to find a rhythm, which I didn’t get into until the second to last set. So the bulk of my time was consumed with the pull-ups and trying not to put my feet through the sheetrock. The sit-ups immediately following the pull-ups were a lot harder than I expected, too. My abs were smoked.

2 thoughts on “Girls can’t do that!

  1. Awesome job on the pullups! Can’t wait for you to get back down here and bust a few out for us….

    Don’t sell too many of them eggs up there to old guys who don’t appreciate tough women… Shane would like to be a regular paying receiver of eggs. Cindy said everyone at the bank that got some last week were talking like the eggs were crack or something…. want more… need more…..

Leave a Reply

