Back Squats and Livestock Problems

I feel like poo today. I’m coming down with some sort of illness, and all I want to do is crawl into bed and sleep for a few days. I tried some back squats tonight and bombed out big time. I tried to work on form, ’cause my form sucks, to put it bluntly. I did two sets of five reps at 110# and then tried for one set at 115#. On the fourth rep I tried to lift my chest up when I was at the bottom and I got completely off balance and had to dump it. Luckily, I now have a squat rack so I can dump safely and not have to worry about any of my hare-brained contraptions collapsing on me.

Our calves got out again last night. Something really scary must have ran through their pen because there were about four holes in the fence. So we were out all day in the cold and wind trying to round them up and patch up their impromptu renovations. I don’t know why the little stinkers can’t escape and rearrange their living quarters on a warm day.

On a positive note, one of my new hens decided to set. So I gave her fourteen eggs and a nice warm nest. In 21 days I should have baby chickens! I can’t wait to see what they look like. I have three roosters: a Golden Pheonix, a Black Austrolorp, and a Gold Sex Link/Austrolorp cross. My hens are Buff Orpingtons, Rosecomb Brown Leghorns, Silver Lakenvelders and Light Brahmas, so I should wind up with some very interesting looking chickens.

Leave a Reply

