Superpower Day

CFWU x 3

Workout:

For time:
85 pound Power clean 15 reps
30 Ring dips
85 pound Power clean 12 reps
24 Ring dips
85 pound Power clean 9 reps
18 Ring dips
85 pound Power clean 6 reps
12 Ring dips
85 pound Power clean 3 reps
6 Ring dips

16:40

Ring dips were band-assisted, and I did 85# cleans instead of the 100# rx’d mostly because I had to hold the bar down on my fingers because of the rip on my hand. I think I could have done 100#, but it sure as heck would have taken a lot longer. This felt pretty good, actually. I was expecting the ring dips to be a lot harder, and they were hard, but they didn’t hurt. At all. I have no explanation for that — I just didn’t feel any pain. I had to break them up into 3, 2 or 1 reps, and my arms just wouldn’t go up at certain points but my muscles didn’t burn or hurt.

This could be one of two things: 1) diet – I’ve been Intermittent Fasting and eating Paleo for over a week; 2) it’s that one day a month where I have superpowers. I’m totally serious about #2 – it’s a girl thing. Don’t gross out on me guys, but sometimes there is one day a month where I am faster, stronger and impervious to pain. I don’t know what it is, hormones, I guess. I do know it is awesome. I don’t always notice it if I don’t work out or do anything really physical that day. One time about two years ago I attended an all day hapkido seminar put on by an old-school Korean Grand-Master (the kind that eats glass for breakfast and makes you do knuckle pushups in your own vomit.) Everyone was talking about how tough it was going to be and how some people couldn’t even make it through the  warmup. Well, all through the darn thing I kept thinking “this isn’t so bad.” Afterwards one of the guys I was with said he almost puked during the warmup, and he was in much, much better shape than I was. About that time I noticed that my arms from my wrists to my elbows were completely covered with bruises. I had been blocking with my forearms all day and hadn’t even felt the pain until I quit. Well, I felt it the next day, and then some. But for that one, glorious day I was on top of the world. Anyway, I really hope it’s #1 because I would love to feel that way every day, but unfortunately it’s probably #2.

Oh, and I weighed myself today. 147#, down two pounds from last week.

And on a completely different note:

I love peanut butter. So did my dad, so I’m thinking it may be inherited. I also love chocolate – dark chocolate – and so does my mom, so I’m thinking that may have been inherited also. But my favorite nut by far has to be the almond, and like Bobby Flay said “I love almonds so much I try to put them where they don’t belong.” Amen, brother. Now, I’m not real quick on the uptake, so the existence of almond butter has been floating around the periphery of my consciousness ever since I started frequenting the CrossFit boards. It just occurred to me today as I was scarfing down a spoonful of peanut butter (and feeling guilty because that is verboten in Paleo or Primal eating), that they make almond butter. Almond freaking butter! Like peanut butter, only made of almonds and most definitely not verboten. So I did a quick Google search and found a place that not only makes almond butter, but also has dark chocolate almond butter. Hold me. Let’s just say the old credit card came out faster than Billy the Kid’s six shooter. Recession? What recession? Do you realize they make dark chocolate almond butter and they’re selling it? Call Barak Obama, I have a stimulus plan.

2 thoughts on “Superpower Day

  1. let me know how your almond butter comes out. i’ve made it before by just blending almonds, olive oil and salt. it is GOOD. my food processor leaves something to be desired though so it is always extra crunchy almond butter.

    we made it on the right hand column of the main site front page today!!!!

  2. Well, if it has almonds in it MUST be good, extra crunchy or not. This almond butter was a little on the expensive side, but I’ve never seen it in Pierre anywhere. Might have to make a trip to Rapid one of these days and hit up Sam’s for some bulk bags of chicken and almonds.

Leave a Reply

