Shoveling

Workout:

For time 30, 25, 20, 15, 10, and 5 rep rounds of:
Virtual shoveling [wmv] [mov]
Pull-ups

With an Olympic bar holding only one plate (men use 45 pound plate, women use 25 pound plate), touch the plate on one side of the barrier then the other for one “rep.” Barrier is 24.”

19:19

I used a 30# bar with a 25# plate, and I did jumping kipping pull-ups (I stood on a box and simulated the forward and backward swing of the kip.) This one was WICKED. I’ve done it before, only with push-ups instead of pull-ups, and I must say I think this one is much worse. For one thing, it was ripping my hands up big time. I’ve got a huge ugly blood blister on my right hand. I could actually hear it starting to rip a few times, so I abandoned the “kipping” and just went with a straight up and down jumping pull-up for the last 10 reps or so.

After I was done I decided I better take care of the blister, so I doused it with rubbing alcohol and tried to drain it with a pin. My arms and hands were shaking so bad I couldn’t hit the darn thing – I probably looked like a drunk trying to thread a needle. I really hope that tomorrow’s WOD somehow, miraculously, does not in any way involve the use of my hands.

blister_dsc09217

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The IF’ing is going pretty good. Yesterday morning I couldn’t believe how good I felt and it seemed like I just had this incredible surge of energy. I immediately screwed that up by having a carb o’rama yesterday. It was potluck day at church – Lutheran church, no less. If there’s one thing a Lutheran can do well, it’s put on a potluck. I had no problems passing up the bread and chips, though I did indulge in a little jello salad (but it did have oranges in it.) It’s just not potluck without some sort of jello dish. There was some fabulous roast beef and several different kinds of soups, so I was ok there. But then there was desert: cream puffs and Oreo eggnog cheesecake bars. I ate some, and you know what? I didn’t even enjoy them, and I am a dessert freak. About an hour later I crashed big time, I could hardly keep my eyes open. After only one week of eating no breads or sugar I can literally feel it hit my bloodstream when I do indulge in it. It is not a good feeling.

You know you might be a Lutheran if:

…you think butter is a spice.

…you have more than five flavors of Jell-O in your pantry.

…you only serve Jell-O in the proper liturgical color for the season.

…you think anyone who says “casserole” instead of “hotdish” is trying to be uppity (or maybe even Episcopalian!)

…you think the term “Jell-O salad” is redundant.

…you sign a petition to have Campbell Soup Co. rename its “Cream of Mushroom soup” “Lutheran Binder!”

…you carry silverware in your pocket to church just in case there’s a potluck.

…you notice the Kool Aid stock shoots up during the Vacation Bible School season.

…all of your casserole dishes have your name on the bottom.

3 thoughts on “Shoveling

  1. don’t know what you normally do with bad hands but this always works for me… take a cuticle cutter or razor blade or something that can cut all the loose skin away. then wet your open sore and dump salt on it. if needed add a couple more drops of water to kind of make a paste. ok – i’ll be honest – this does hurt alot – just breathe through it for a few minutes. when you can’t take it anymore wash it off. the sore that was red should now be kind of white and won’t hurt anymore. now apply chap stick (not vaseline or neosporin) to it every time you think of it… ie 15-20 times a day. you will be ready to work it again in a couple days –

  2. It hasn’t ripped yet, but it was really close. I drained all of the blood and fluid out and it kind of deflated. The skin is still a little loose and bunched up but intact. I’ve been thinking about cutting it off but I know it’s going to hurt.

    I keep forgetting to buy a callus shaver. Otherwise I would be using one every day. Gotta put that on my list.

    What a lovely conversation this has been. 🙂

Leave a Reply

