Sturdy German Farm Girl Legs

Workout:

Deadlift 5-5-5-5-5

183#/188#/193#/193#/193#

193# is a PR for me on a deadlift 5×5 workout, but just by a smiggen, my previous best was 190# for the last two sets of my last 5×5. I did this at the new box, and Steve watched me and checked my form. I still have a problem with cranking my neck up, but I don’t think I’m driving with my butt as much as I was. Always something to work on. Steve said the other ladies were impressed with the weight I was lifting, but really I’m just using my best asset, which is my sturdy German farm girl legs. They may be stumpy, but they are mighty.

I also have some wicked bruises on my shins and knees from the deads. Guess I don’t have to wonder if I had the bar close enough to my legs. The inside of my knees also hurt a lot. I couldn’t figure it out, but I looked at my pictures from today and it looks like my knees were collapsing in a little bit. I’ve never had this problem before, but then I realized I was wearing running shoes. I always lift barefoot. The shoes must have had enough squish in them to make a difference in my form. Another good excuse to get some lifting shoes.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Kyuki-do sparring class tonight. We did technique drills, which I enjoyed very much. It’s nice just to take a slow night and really work out how to do something. We did back kicks, jumping back kicks, hook kicks, spinning sole kicks, and threw in some speed drills and shadow boxing. Before class Hannah (six years old) and I played an intense game of kickball/keep-away/soccer. She’s vicious. The little bugger has no mercy.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is my second day of IF, and I must say I felt really good this morning. I weighed myself this morning (even though I swore I would only do that once a week) and I actually gained about a pound, but my body fat dropped 2%. I have one of those fancy schmansy scales that measures your body fat, so I have a strong suspicion the weight gain has something to do with the three liters of water I drank yesterday. I’ve found with those scales that when I’m dehydrated my body fat goes up and when I’m hydrated it goes down. 

I’ve spent the last two days delving into sites like Mark’s Daily Apple, IF Life and the Performance Menu forums. Paleo and primal eating really makes sense to me. I know people have a lot of success with the Zone, but I can’t see measuring and weighing all my food for the rest of my life. I’ll probably throw in some cheese and peanut butter here and there, but I really want to stop eating grains and sugar. I’m just at the point where I’m ready to do it. I watch the CrossFit videos and see the CrossFit stud chicks and I want to be like that. I’m ready to dedicate myself and do whatever I need to do to make it work.

2 thoughts on “Sturdy German Farm Girl Legs

  1. Congrats on the PR. 193 is awesome! My best deadlift is 215, but it is wobbly and only in a set of three to max. For workouts I’ve been doing 185 – and dying. I have wicked soccer legs – so deadlifts are my strongest lift. Shoulder press on the other hand…weak!

    Good luck with your workouts!

  2. Thanks! Deadlifts are my all time favorite lifts. 215 is great, keep working them and you’ll be going heavier in sets in no time.

    I hear you on the shoulder presses — mine are pretty sad. All my weight and power seem to reside below my waist 🙂

Leave a Reply

