Rower, How I Hate Thee

Things I Suck At:

1. Rowing
2. Wall Ball

Which brings me to today’s WOD:

Row 1000 meters
21 wall ball (12#)
42 abmat sit-ups
Row 500 meters
15 wall ball
30 abmat situps
Row 250 meters
9 wall ball
18 abmat situps

Bonus: make a free throw shot from a designated mark and reduce your sit-ups by half.

17:13

Well. I’ve only rowed about three times in my life, and I don’t think I’ve ever gone over 500 meters. So I had no idea what I was doing and no idea how to pace myself on the 1000m. I went out way too fast and fried myself, and I kind of lurched through the rest of the workout like one of the walking dead. “Uuuuuhhnnn! Me row now.”

Oh, did I mention that it was 5:15 AM? I’ve been running on Mountain Time for the last three weeks so that’s 4:15 AM. Uuuuuhhhhnnnn.

I think I could have shaved a couple of minutes off my time if I wasn’t so inept at wall ball. We were using the Dynamax balls and those things are like trying to catch and throw a pillow full of pudding. I haven’t been doing wall balls very much, and the ball I’ve been using is a 10# rubber basketball thingy. Much easier for my little tiny elf hands to catch and throw. 

The upside of the whole fiasco for me was: 1.) getting to work out at the new box – it’s going to be awesome! 2.) getting to take pictures. I love photography, and I love sports photography even more. I would get up at 2:25 am in a raging blizzard rowing uphill both ways while doing wall ball if someone was doing something cool and let me take pictures of it. It took me a bit to get adjusted to the lighting, get my timing down, and figure out which lens I need to use. I’m going to try again tomorrow and see if I can get some better pictures.

I also picked today to start Intermittent Fasting (IF). I’m only going to eat from 12:00 noon to 6:00 pm. – I’ll black box it and see how it goes for me. I came home from the gym, did some work and then waited for 12:00 to roll around. I put a bowl of chicken chili in the microwave at 12:03 pm, and my mom called at 12:04 pm. Normally I love talking to my mom, but I was hungry!

Mom: Hi, how’s it going.

Me: Fine (looking at timer on microwave.)

Mom: How’s the weather?

Me: Uh, a little cold, I guess. (lovely soup smell wafting through the room)

Mom: It’s raining here.

Me: Really, wow. (thunderous rumble from my tummy)

Mom: What was that noise?

One thing I have noticed in my whole half day of IF – I’m drinking about 3x as much water as usual.  Ok, I’m gonna go eat now, I only have four hours left. I think I’ll hunt a wild animal down and cook it over a fire I made from breaking up my desk chair with my bare hands. Uuuuuhhhn, meat!

2 thoughts on “Rower, How I Hate Thee

  1. Tami –
    The photos were great. (todays too!) I’ll try and set up a gallery over the weekend. Cindy came back from work at lunch and said that Angie came up to her office and talked about your deadlifts and hoped that you will continue with the 0515 insane hour of the day workouts with the group…. Thanks for all the help you have given me.

  2. Thanks Steve (and Angie and Cindy)! As you know, I’m hopelessly in love with deadlifts. They put my best asset to use: my sturdy German farm girl legs.

    I really like the 0515 class too, except for the fact that it’s at 5:15 in the freaking morning.

    Your welcome for the help. I really hope your affiliate is successful.

Leave a Reply

